

Establishment of: Legislation Advisory Panel

Introduction

The Legislation Advisory Panel ("LAP") is the successor of the Legislation Committee from the Committee System of Government¹. On adopting P.32/2006², the States Assembly agreed the membership of the then-LAP, and the report accompanying the proposition stated that the LAP:

- a) Should be established as an Advisory Panel to the Chief Minister;
- b) The membership should be drawn from both the executive and non-executive arms of the States Assembly.

Since then, the membership of the LAP has remained balanced between executive and non-executive States Members, and procedurally its membership has been constituted via a Ministerial Decision.

Prior to Deputy Farnham's appointment as Chief Minister, the membership of the LAP was constituted by the then-Chief Minister, Deputy Moore, who decided to appoint the following States Members to the LAP:

- Constable Johnson, Chair (Non-Executive Member);
- Deputy Bailhache, Vice-chair (Non-Executive Member);
- Deputy R. Binet (Executive Member);
- Deputy C. Curtis (Non-Executive Member);
- · Deputy Ferey, (Executive Member); and
- Constable Mezbourian (Non-Executive Member).

Following the appointment of Deputy Farnham as Chief Minister and the resulting constitution of a new Council of Ministers, the LAP also requires reconstituting.

Detail

Having considered the matter, the Chief Minister, with the agreement of the proposed Chair, has determined that the LAP should be reconstituted in accordance with the accompanying Terms of Reference.

Recommendation

The Chief Minister is recommended to publish their decision and the Terms of Reference for the LAP to gov.je via a Ministerial Decision.

Resource Implications

There are no new resource implications arising from this decision.

Page 1 of 2

¹ 'Machinery of Government: Proposed Departmental Structure and Transitional Arrangements', lodged by the Privileges and Procedures Committee, 30 April 2022, States Assembly (<u>link</u>). Accessed February 2024. ² 'Legislation Advisory Panel: Appointment of Members', lodged by the Chief Minister, 17 March 2006, States Assembly (<u>link</u>). Accessed February 2024.



Terms of Reference: Legislation Advisory Panel

Introduction

The Legislation Advisory Panel ("LAP") is the successor of the Legislation Committee from the Committee System of Government. Since 2006, consecutive Chief Ministers have constituted an LAP.

Purpose

The LAP is established to advise the Chief Minister on a range of legislative matters, mainly relating to courts, court procedures, and the wider administration of justice.

Additionally, the LAP receives, and reviews reports received from the Jersey Law Commission, an independent body established by an Act of the States Assembly in 1996.

Membership

The membership of the LAP is to be drawn from the executive and non-executive arms of the States Assembly and, accordingly, shall be:

- Deputy Bailhache, Chair and Non-Executive Member;
- Constable Johnson, Vice-chair and Non-Executive Member;
- · Deputy R. Binet, Executive Member;
- Deputy C. Curtis, Non-Executive Member;
- Constable Mezbourian, Non-Executive Member; and
- Deputy B. Ward, Executive Member.

If required, the Chief Minister will determine any changes to the membership of the LAP in consultation with the Chair, with any changes being reflected in a new Terms of Reference.

Quorum shall be three members with at least one of these being the Chair, or in their absence, the Vice-chair.

Officers from the Government of Jersey and non-ministerial offices shall be invited to attend as required.

Meeting Frequency

The LAP shall typically meet monthly, and the Chair, if they deemed it required, may call extraordinary meetings.

Record Keeping and Administrative Support

The Ministerial Office shall provide administrative support to the LAP and the States Greffe shall prepare and maintain minutes.